NAISMA Annual Awards

The North American Invasive Species Management Association (NAISMA) Annual Awards seeks to recognize individuals who have gone above and beyond to improve invasive species management in North America. Award nominees do not need to be current NAISMA members.

The 2021 call for awards nominations will be announced in late spring 2021. Awards will be presented at the 2021 Annual Conference in Missoula, Montana. Please subscribe to our newsletter at the bottom of this page receive announcements about this opportunity.

Special Recognition Award

This award goes to an organization or individual who, through a specific act or group of acts, helped amplify NAISMA’s mission: to support, promote, and empower invasive species prevention and management in North America. This could also be an organization/individual who had a particularly successful invasive species project or made a significant contribution to one or more of NAISMA’s programs.

Cooperator Award

This award recognizes a partner organization or individual for having outstanding dedication to help coordinate one of NAISMA’s programs or organize the conference.

Rita Beard Visionary Leadership Award

This award recognizes an early-career individual who has shown exceptional dedication and accomplishments regarding invasive species management or educational activities. Rita Beard, a luminary in the federal and private sector of the invasive species world, passed away in October, 2016 at her home in Fort Collins, CO. Throughout her career, Rita advanced her vision of coordinating invasive species management on a national scope. By encouraging collaboration from the field to congressional levels, she effectively changed the way invasive species are managed in this country. In addition, she worked to make sure that all invasive species management decisions were based on the latest and best available research and technology, thus ensuring that management decisions were supported by science. Towards that end, Rita spearheaded the development of the original mapping standards for NAISMA, which unified management practices to help ensure consistent data collection.